AAPC Publishing
6448 Vista Drive
Shawnee, KS 66218
(913) 897-1004 (tel)
(913) 871-7787 (fax)
support@aapcpublishing.net

 


Product Reviews

Reviews (8): The Hidden Curriculum

Average Rating
March 16 2017
Three Stars By Amazon Customer on June 1, 2016 |Verified Purchase cool but incomplete
March 16 2017
Huge Help for our Asperger's teen and even our relatively normal 1st grader By Amazon Customer on May 1, 2014 Verified Purchase This book helps adults understand how social situations come across to youngsters with autism and sensory processing disorders. It helps you develop a plan. It includes a long list of usually unspoken rules for living in our society and some common figures of speech that the Asperger's individual might take too literally and not understand. We read a couple of these rules each morning together as well as one of the figures of speech. It has given our older son understanding and confidence in social situations and helped our younger son begin to understand manners better. I have also been able to use it in talking with our youth pastors to help them understand and work with our older son
March 16 2017
Great book for those with low functioning autism By David L. on September 8, 2014 Amazon |Verified Purchase The authors of this book obviously did extensive research on the subject. The material is well-presented and clearly described. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone on the spectrum (i.e., someone with an Autism Spectrum Disorder or ASD). The one exception to that would be if you have a high functioning form of autism (e.g., Asperger's) and you are college-aged or older. The reason I say that is because most of the rules and ideas that are presented in this book are for those who have zero knowledge of the hidden curriculum and the way social interactions are supposed to work. Those with Asperger's are able to and likely have already learned many if not all of the rules stated in this book already. Obviously everyone's knowledge of the hidden curriculum varies, but I purchased this book for a young adult with Asperger's (in his mid-20's) and he knew 99% of the material covered in this book already. He didn't learn it anywhere and he never received any kind of Asperger-specific counseling or training; he picked up the knowledge from his own experiences (and mistakes). Also, some of the material is dated. For example, one of the slang terms that is presented in this book is "Phat, snap!" which the authors explain simply means "Cool." This word might have been popular among the kids a decade ago but it looks like this book was published in 2013. C'mon guys, get with the times! Overall, a very good book for those with low-functioning forms of autism.
Anonymous
LENEXA, Kansas
June 07 2016
Customer Review: Julie Snively - Great for teaching social skills!!
Anonymous
LENEXA, Kansas
June 07 2016
Customer Review: James V. Pritchert - I purchased this for my grandson to read. He has Asperger’s Syndrome and this book was recommended for his development.
Anonymous
LENEXA, Kansas
June 07 2016
Customer Review: Amazon Customer - There is a current trend of focusing on active interaction social skills. This book is not so much focused on interactive social situations as it is on public environment expectations and rules. It's more closely related to etiquette principles, but also goes beyond that. Spectrum children are concrete learners so having a book of direct, succinct rules to create structure and frame expectations is a great resource. The book has concentrated organization so you don't have to search through hundreds of pages to find relevant material. Many of the rules listed are so obvious seeming that I think many of us overlook teaching them to our children. It's perfect for busy parents who have their hands full. Thank you Brend Smith Myles for writing this time and sanity saving book!
Anonymous
LENEXA, Kansas
June 07 2016
Customer Review: MyssChryss - Packed with some great information!
Anonymous
LENEXA, Kansas
June 07 2016
Customer Review: Keri Evan - Amazing book! Thank you Brenda for helping me understand how my son is wired. This book takes a very complex subject, simplifies it and gives practical application guidance. Outstanding!

Home
Bookstore
Multimedia
Newsletter

About Us
Authors

AAPC Textbooks

     -Textbook Catalog


 

Planar Client Options
Layout Style
  • Wide
  • Boxed
Theme Preview