AAPC Publishing
11209 Strang Line Rd.
Lenexa, KS 66215
(913) 897-1004 (tel)
(913) 871-7787 (fax)
support@aapcpublishing.net

Text/HTML

 


Product Reviews

Reviews (8): Interoception: The Eighth Sensory System

Average Rating
March 16 2017
Five Stars By SpedTeacher on January 5, 2017 Amazon |Verified Purchase Fantastic for Special Education use
March 16 2017
The 8th Sense By DeeAnn Lett-Neal on October 18, 2016 Amazon Verified Purchase Mahler has nailed what is missing from Sensory Therapy for people with Autism.
March 16 2017
This book is a GAME CHANGER for the field of autism. By Autism Consultant on Amazon December 18, 2015 Wow! This book has completely changed the way I think about and address the needs of my clients with Autism. Interoception helps us to feel hunger, thirst, pain, the need for the bathroom, sexual arousal and so on. I think back to so many clients that struggled with one or more of these areas. Clients that were injured and did not feel pain. Clients that had a hard time learning to use the bathroom independently. Clients that would go for days without eating if someone was not there to remind them to eat. Learning about interoception has shed light on so many of these areas. I think what impacted me the most about this book is the connection the author made between interoception and emotions. We know what emotion it is that we are experiencing at any given time based on our interoceptive sensations. For example, when we feel our heart race, stomach flutter and muscles shake, we know that we are nervous. Without clear information from your interoceptive system, imagine how difficult it would be to clearly identify your emotions!! And think about controlling emotions that are not clear---would that be easy? I think not. The author mentions that a person has to know what emotion they are feeling in order to control it. So true! Many common interventions and curriculums in the autism field are aimed at controlling emotions, but NONE of them take into account that a person with autism may be missing the clear interoceptive information helping them to pinpoint emotions with clarity. This book addressees a crucial piece that is missing from out attempt to teach emotional regulation skills to individuals with autism. The strategies provided in this book have allowed my clients to be more aware of their interoceptive sensations and have in turn helped them identify their emotions, especially subtle emotions, with greater clarity. And of course they are more successful in managing their emotions now! This book is a GAME CHANGER for the field of autism.
Anonymous
LENEXA, Kansas
June 02 2016
Customer Review: Brian Murphy - This book captivated me from the first page to the last. I rarely post reviews but felt this book will be helpful to other parents of kids with ASDs. Thank you Kelly Mahler for the excellent book on a great topic.
Anonymous
LENEXA, Kansas
June 02 2016
Customer Review: Drew - This book is a must read for ANY practitioner who works with children. All humans have “IA;” self-awareness is as unique as a fingerprint. A greater understanding of interoception has helped me to customize my approach with each and every student.
Anonymous
LENEXA, Kansas
June 02 2016
Customer Review: Chole Rothschild - This book is a must read for parents, professionals, and is even a helpful read for individuals on the spectrum. Learning about Interoception has motivated me to continue to grow, and learn to feel my body better. It's given me a name and a reason for something I struggled with. As a young adult with Autism and self advocate, I give this book two thumbs up, 5 stars and a 10 out of 10! A must read for sure!
Anonymous
LENEXA, Kansas
June 02 2016
Customer Review: Buzz Kill Will - We have used Kelly Mahler's books as a resource at my company for years. "Interoception" is no exception. Our masters level clinicians will and are utilizing this book to write treatment plans that help transfer skills to parents and our clients. The combination of Kelly Mahler's expertise in the field and writing skills make this book invaluable.
Anonymous
LENEXA, Kansas
June 02 2016
Customer Review: Erin C Kavanagh - Interoception is widely discussed and researched in other fields, however, up until this point little has been mentioned about interoception in the field of autism. This book provides a detailed connection between interoception and common experiences of individuals with autism. Chapters 1 & 2 provide an easy-to-follow explanation of interoception and offer many real-life examples to illustrate concepts clearly. These beginning chapters describe the influence that interoception has on many important skill areas such as: self-awareness, managing body functions (e.g. toileting, healthy eating habits, etc), understanding emotions, controlling emotions, empathy, perspective taking and social intuition. Chapter 3 covers assessment and provides three structured tools the reader can use when evaluating the interoceptive experience of individuals with autism. Lastly, this book concludes with an entire chapter dedicated to practical strategies for improving interoception. This book is by far a game changer and is a must read for anyone in the autism field.

Home
Bookstore
Multimedia
Newsletter

About Us
Authors

AAPC Textbooks

     -Textbook Catalog


 

Planar Client Options
Layout Style
  • Wide
  • Boxed
Theme Preview